Skip to main content

我的治療

我的治療

選擇治療方案並不容易,您可能有很多關於治療選項的問題想向腫瘤科醫生查詢。治療的效用固然重要,但治療可能引起的副作用及治療對生活的影響,同樣不容忽視。請與您的腫瘤科醫生討論適合您的治療。

homepage-pic3.png

謹記:

  • 擴散性乳癌需要長期治療,並可能會隨著時間和身體的狀況而調整1,2
  • 治療的目標是阻止癌症進一步擴散(惡化)、紓緩徵狀,以及幫助您維持最好的生活質素1,2
  • 若您出現任何副作用,告訴您的腫瘤科醫生-他們可以幫助您緩解不適1

擴散性乳癌有甚麼治療方法?

擴散性乳癌的治療取決於癌症的類型和位置。您可能會接受由多種治療組成的合併治療,亦可能只需接受一種治療2

現時主要有三類可控制癌症的藥物治療,包括化學治療、荷爾蒙治療(又稱為內分泌治療)和標靶治療1,2。有時也可能需要利用放射治療,或在極少數情況下以手術方法,去控制病情或徵狀2

與此同時,您可能需要其他治療幫助紓緩癌症或癌症轉移帶來的徵狀,其中最重要的就是可強化骨骼的骨骼穩定藥劑,例如雙膦酸鹽或RANKL單株抗體,出現骨轉移時尤其需要3,4

treatment-types-iamge.png
  • 化學治療
  • 放射治療
  • 荷爾蒙藥物治療
  • 標靶治療
  • 骨骼穩定藥劑
  • 手術
  • 化學治療

    化學治療是一些可以殺死癌細胞的藥物5,但它們也會傷害正常細胞並引起各種副作用5。部分化學治療藥物是口服形式,讓您可在家中服用1,部分則為靜脈注射方式使用,需要您到醫院或診所接受治療1

    會否需要進行化學治療取決於您的健康狀態、曾服用的藥物和所患的癌症類型。化學治療有很多種類1,如果您所用的化學治療產生大量副作用,請諮詢腫瘤科醫生的意見。

  • 放射治療

    放射治療是利用高能量輻射殺死癌細胞的治療療程5,為您帶來控病的效果。如果藥物治療未能有效緩解骨痛,放射治療便是另一個治療選擇,藉輻射能量消滅轉移到骨骼引起骨痛的癌細胞2

    放射治療療程須按病人的情況度身訂造,詳情請與醫生磋商3

  • 荷爾蒙藥物治療

    荷爾蒙治療(或內分泌治療)用以治療對荷爾蒙敏感、特別是雌激素敏感的乳癌。部分乳癌受雌激素等荷爾蒙刺激而生長6,荷爾蒙治療便透過抑制荷爾蒙如雌激素和孕酮的分泌,或阻隔癌細胞上的荷爾蒙受體,阻截體內特定荷爾蒙發揮作用2,6

    荷爾蒙治療藥物有多個種類,作用亦各有不同。荷爾蒙治療藥物通常是口服形式,亦有部分是針劑。您或需要同時接受化學治療2,6

    是否需要進行或接受哪種荷爾蒙治療,基於多個因素考慮,包括您是否已進入更年期、患病時間,以及曾接受的乳癌治療(如您之前曾患早期乳癌並接受治療)2,6。即使您曾經接受荷爾蒙治療,仍可再次使用7

  • 標靶治療

    標靶治療針對特定類型的乳癌,透過阻截促使乳癌細胞增生的路徑,達到控病的效果。腫瘤科醫生須確定您的癌症類型,以決定您是否適合接受標靶治療2

    現時有多種針對HR陽性乳癌的標靶治療,能夠有效阻截荷爾蒙(例如雌激素)激活癌細胞增生的路徑,從而帶來控病的效果8

    另外,亦有多種以 HER2 受體為目標的標靶治療2。這些藥物適用於癌細胞HER2 呈高水平的病人,但不適用於HER2陰性的乳癌病人8

  • 骨骼穩定藥劑

    這類藥物慣常用於骨轉移,能夠幫助強化骨骼和減少骨質流失3,7

    它們有助紓緩骨骼疼痛,長遠則可減少骨折的風險3,7,並有口服或注射形式藥物選擇3,7

  • 手術

    手術不常用於擴散性乳癌2,但有時可利用手術切除腫瘤組織,幫助改善身體功能或紓緩痛楚,並多用於處理轉移至骨骼、肺部或腦部,以及肝臟的癌細胞2


特定類型的擴散性乳癌有何治療方法?

因應不同的擴散性乳癌類型,您會有不同的治療選項1。舉例說,如果您是 HR 陽性,腫瘤科醫生可能會建議您接受荷爾蒙加標靶治療的合併治療。如果是 HER2 陽性的癌症,則可以考慮針對 HER2的標靶治療7。請諮詢您的腫瘤科醫生,了解最適合您的治療。

我適合哪一種治療方法?

治療擴散性乳癌沒有單一的最佳方法,適合其他人的治療不一定適合您7

適合您的癌症治療方案受不同因素影響,包括︰腫瘤的生物機制(乳癌類型)、體內轉移的部位、曾接受過的乳癌治療,以及其他病患和相關治療等等7

鑑於癌細胞可能會對所用的治療產生抗藥性,您或因此而要轉換其他更有效的治療7。您的腫瘤科醫生也可能基於其他原因而終止您的治療。如果您出現過多副作用,應向腫瘤科醫生諮詢。

如何判斷治療對我是否有效?

癌症治療的效果因人而異,亦難以準確預測治療對您的療效。您的腫瘤科醫生會在不同時間進行各種測試,以了解治療是否有效。這些測試可能包括:

腫瘤大小/癌症轉移

造影檢查能幫助腫瘤科醫生,了解您的腫瘤或癌症轉移是否正在生長、縮小,或保持相同大小8。治療期間您可能需要重覆接受檢查,包括電腦斷層 (CT) 或磁力共振造影 (MRI) 掃描8

腫瘤標記水平

腫瘤標記是一些蛋白或其他物質,有時可用來反映體內腫瘤的情況,但並非絕對9

腫瘤科醫生可透過檢測腫瘤標記的水平,從而監測治療對您的反應9

循環腫瘤細胞水平

循環腫瘤細胞 (CTC) 是從原發腫瘤脫離,並進入血液循環的癌細胞9

CTC水平高可能反映癌細胞正在生長9。腫瘤科醫生會監測您血液中的 CTC 水平,以了解您對治療的反應9

新的癌症轉移

腫瘤科醫生可利用造影檢查,例如電腦斷層 (CT) 或磁力共振造影 (MRI) 掃描,了解癌細胞是否擴散至身體其他部位10

我的治療要維持多久?

擴散性乳癌需要長期治療,因為持續治療可以減緩或阻止癌症惡化,以及控制癌症轉移引起的症狀。您的治療可能時有調整,也可能持續接受相同治療並與其他治療交替進行11

治療擴散性乳癌沒有單一的最佳方法,醫生會因應每個人的情況,度身訂造所需的治療方案1

當您感覺好轉或不適時,可能會想停止治療。但請盡力按照處方指示繼續進行治療,這對您十分重要。如果您正在考慮停止治療,請與您的腫瘤科醫生討論,有很多方法可以減少治療的副作用。

治療會帶來哪些副作用?

不同的治療、藥物劑量及治療週期可產生不同的副作用12,而每個人對治療的反應也不一樣,因此即使使用相同的治療,您面對的副作用也可能與其他人有分別12

如果您正在接受化學治療,副作用通常在療程開始的數星期內出現,並隨著治療周期推展而加劇12。了解可能會出現的副作用,並提早做好心理準備,可幫助您更好地處理。一般而言,停止治療後,正常細胞會慢慢康復(化學治療會影響體內正常細胞及癌細胞),副作用亦會逐步消退12

並非所有人都會出現副作用。如果您沒有出現任何副作用,不表示癌症治療對您沒有作用12

如果您出現任何副作用,記得告知您的腫瘤科醫生或護士。他們可以利用一些輔助治療,或調整癌症治療方案,幫助減輕副作用。此外,一些看似是副作用的反應可能是癌症生長的徵兆。

常見副作用和處理方法

乳癌治療最常見的副作用包括疲勞、疼痛、噁心、嘔吐、腹瀉、脫髮、白血球數目下降、體重增加或減輕13

痛症

如果您出現疼痛,請務必告知您的腫瘤科醫生或護士。他們可處方藥物及提供建議,幫助您紓緩痛楚3

記錄疼痛的頻率和嚴重程度亦有幫助,例如晚上或進行特定事情時痛楚會否加劇?有效紓緩痛楚對您的情緒可帶來很大幫助,有助減輕疲勞、焦慮和抑鬱,並改善睡眠和整體健康狀況。

通常藥物和輔助治療能有效緩解癌症相關的疼痛3。針灸、按摩和放鬆療程也可幫助控制疼痛14,運動亦有所幫助。

疲勞

疲勞不只是感覺到疲倦,而是完全枯竭。這可能是癌症對身體的影響,也可能是治療的副作用,亦可能與睡眠模式改變、額外的壓力和焦慮所致15

處理疲勞的貼士13,15

  • 定時進食和食用健康食物
  • 定期進行溫和的運動
  • 預早計劃行程,只做一些您認為重要的事情
  • 尋求朋友和家人的協助
  • 需要時小休或小睡
  • 告訴腫瘤科醫生或護士─疲勞可能源於紅血球下降,亦即貧血。如出現這種情況,可用藥物控制12

噁心和嘔吐

如出現噁心和嘔吐但沒有及時治理,可令您感到非常疲累,甚至帶來更嚴重的問題。因此,如果您有噁心或嘔吐等狀況,請告訴您的腫瘤科醫生或護士,他們可處方藥物幫助您控制情況。

減少噁心和嘔吐的貼士12,13,16

  • 進行溫和的運動,以及多呼吸新鮮空氣
  • 避免辛辣、油膩或過甜的食物-嘗試清淡和容易消化的食物
  • 分開多次、每次少量地喝水,如不喜歡白開水的味道,可加薑或糖漿等調味
  • 定時進食,並要少吃多餐

睡眠障礙和失眠

多種因素可妨礙您的睡眠,包括疼痛、壓力、治療的副作用、焦慮和抑鬱等。您可能覺得自己無法入睡、晚上頻繁醒來,或很早便起床。

睡眠問題可影響您應付日常生活的能力17。因此,如果您遇到睡眠問題,請告訴您的腫瘤科醫生,他們處方的藥物可帶來幫助17

幫助睡眠的貼士12,17

  • 嘗試維持慣常的睡眠模式
  • 減少房間內的噪音和光線
  • 嘗試放鬆療程、冥想或正念
  • 睡前喝一杯溫熱飲料(但避免含有咖啡因的飲料)

無法集中和認知變化

這些變化可能由身體或情緒變化而起,不一定與您的治療有關12,18。若您有任何集中力的問題,請務必告知您的腫瘤科醫生或護士。

脫髮

如果您正在接受化學治療,您可能會發現頭髮變得稀疏或乾燥,甚至大量脫落19。脫髮問題令很多人也感到憂慮,其嚴重程度視乎所用的藥物而定12

部分化學治療(並非所有)引起的脫髮可利用頭皮冷卻作有效處理20。請向您的腫瘤科醫生查詢,頭皮冷卻是否能適合正接受特定治療的您使用,以及其診所是否提供相關療程。

脫髮可能令您非常困擾,若您知道自己會出現脫髮,提早剪短頭髮也不失為一個好辦法13,讓您取回一些主導權,而不只是等待脫髮出現。請作出適合自己的決定。

參考資料

  1. National Breast Cancer Foundation Australia (2020). Treatment. Retrieved from https://nbcf.org.au/about-breast-cancer/treatment/. Accessed 10 December, 2020.
  2. Australia Government (October 2020). Treatment options for metastatic breast cancer. Retrieved from https://www.canceraustralia.gov.au/affected-cancer/cancer-types/breast-cancer/treatment/metastatic-breast-cancer. Accessed 10 December, 2020.
  3. National Cancer Institute (2020). Breast Cancer Treatment -Patient Version. Retrieved from https://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/treatment/side-effects/pain/pain-pdq. Accessed 13 October, 2020.
  4. National Cancer Institute (2020). NCI Dictionary of Cancer Terms. Retrieved from https://www.cancer.gov/publications/dictionaries/cancer-terms. Accessed 13 October, 2020.
  5. National Cancer Institute (2020). Types of cancer treatment. Retrieved from https://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/treatment/types. Accessed 13 October, 2020.
  6. National Cancer Institute (2020). Hormone Therapy for Breast Cancer. Retrieved from https://www.cancer.gov/types/breast/breast-hormone-therapy-fact-sheet. Accessed 13 October, 2020.
  7. NCCN Clinical Practice Guidelines in Oncology Breast Cancer, Version 6. 2020- September 8, 2020. Retrieved from https://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/pdf/breast.pdf. 13 October, 2020.
  8. National Cancer Institute (2020). Breast Cancer Treatment – Patient Version. Retrieved from https://www.cancer.gov/types/breast/patient/breast-treatment-pdq#section/all. Accessed 13 October, 2020.
  9. Breastcancer.org (October 2019) Blood Marker Tests. Retrieved from https://www.breastcancer.org/symptoms/testing/types/blood_marker. Accessed 13 October, 2020.
  10. Australian Government Cancer Australia (October 2020). Diagnosis when breast cancer has spread. Retrieved from https://www.canceraustralia.gov.au/affected-cancer/cancer-types/breast-cancer/diagnosis/diagnosis-when-breast-cancer-spreads. Accessed 13 October, 2020.
  11. American Cancer Society (April 2020). Treatment of Stage IV (metastatic) breast cancer. Retrieved from https://www.cancer.org/cancer/breast-cancer/treatment/treatment-of-breast-cancer-by-stage/treatment-of-stage-iv-advanced-breast-cancer.html. Accessed 10 December, 2020.
  12. Cancer Council Victoria (2020) Chemotherapy: Side effects of chemotherapy. Retrieved from: https://www.cancervic.org.au/cancer-information/treatments/treatments-types/chemotherapy/side_effects_of_chemotherapy.html. Accessed 13 October, 2020.
  13. Australian Government Cancer Australia (October 2020). Side effects. Retrieved from https://www.canceraustralia.gov.au/affected-cancer/cancer-types/breast-cancer/treatment/chemotherapy/side-effects#. Accessed 13 October, 2020.
  14. National Cancer Institute (2020) Side Effects: Pain. Retrieved from https://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/treatment/side-effects. Accessed 13 October, 2020.
  15. National Cancer Institute (2020). Fatigue and Cancer Treatment. Retrieved from https://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/treatment/side-effects/fatigue. Accessed 13 October, 2020.
  16. Cancer Care Ontario (2019). How to manage your nausea and vomiting. Retrieved from https://www.uhn.ca/PatientsFamilies/Health_Information/Health_Topics/Documents/How_to_Manage_Nausea_Vomiting_cco.pdf. Accessed 10 December, 2020.
  17. Macmillan cancer support (2020). Trouble sleeping (Insomnia). Retrieved from https://www.macmillan.org.uk/cancer-information-and-support/impacts-of-cancer/trouble-sleeping. Accessed 10 December, 2020.
  18. National Cancer Institute (2020). Memory or Concentration Problems and Cancer Treatment. Retrieved from https://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/treatment/side-effects/memory. Accessed 13 October, 2020.
  19. National Cancer Institute (2020). Memory or Concentration Problems and Cancer Treatment. Retrieved from https://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/treatment/side-effects/hair-loss. Accessed 13 October, 2020.
  20. Macmillan Cancer Support (2020) Scalp cooling. Retrieved from: https://www.macmillan.org.uk/information-and-support/coping/side-effects-and-symptoms/hair-loss/scalp-cooling.html. Accessed 13 October, 2020.

免責聲明

這些健康資訊僅供參考,並不旨在取代與醫護人員的討論。

所有有關病人護理的決定須由醫護人員訂定。

My treatment

My treatment

Choosing a treatment can be daunting, and there are a lot of questions to ask your oncologist about your available options. You want to choose a treatment that is effective for your metastatic breast cancer, but it is also important to understand the possible side effects and consider how a treatment may affect your lifestyle. Talk to your oncologist about which treatment may be right for you.

homepage-pic3.png

Remember:

  • Treatment for metastatic breast cancer is long term and you may have to take different treatments over time1,2.
  • The goals of treatment are to prevent your cancer from spreading further (progressing), relieve the symptoms and ensure you have the best possible quality of life1,2.
  • Always tell your oncologist about any treatment side effects you experienced – there are things they can do to help1.

What are the types of treatment for metastatic breast cancer?

The treatment you will receive for your metastatic breast cancer will largely depend on the type and location of your cancer. You may be given a combination of therapies or you may receive only one therapy at a time2.

The three main types of drug therapy that you can be offered to control your cancer are chemotherapy, anti-hormonal therapy (also called endocrine therapy) and targeted therapy1,2Radiotherapy, and rarely surgery, may also be used when necessary for disease or symptom control2.

In addition, you may be given treatments to help relieve the symptoms of the cancer or of the metastases in your body. Among the most important of these treatments are bone stabilizing agents such as bisphosphonates or anti-RANKL monoclonal antibody which are given to help strengthen your bones, particularly if you have bone metastases3,4.

treatment-types-iamge.png
  • Chemotherapy
  • Radiotherapy
  • Anti-hormonal drug therapy
  • Targeted therapies
  • Bone stabilizing agents
  • Surgery
  • Chemotherapy

    Chemotherapy drugs are substances that kill cancer cells5. However, they can harm normal cells too and this can cause side effects5. Some chemotherapy drugs are given as a pill that you can take at home1. Others are given by intravenous infusion and you may have to go to hospitals to receive them1.

    Whether you receive chemotherapy will depend on your health, what medicines you have taken before and the type of cancer you have. There are many different types of chemotherapies1. If you have too many side effects with one kind, please consult your oncologist.

  • Radiotherapy

    Radiotherapy is the use of high-energy radiation that kills cancer cells5. Radiotherapy may be given to control your cancer. It can also be used to relieve bone pain if cancer drug therapy does not relieve it fast enough. It is common to radiate metastases in the bone that are causing pain2.

    Radiotherapy treatment is individualized based on discussions between the patient and her doctor3.

  • Anti-hormonal drug therapy

    Anti-hormonal therapies (or endocrine therapies) are used to treat breast cancer that is sensitive to hormones, particularly estrogen. Some types of breast cancer are stimulated to grow by hormones, such as estrogen6. Anti-hormonal therapies work by blocking the actions of particular hormones in the body – by suppressing the production of the hormones estrogen and progesterone or by blocking the receptors for these hormones2,6.

    There are several different hormone-based therapy drugs that work in different ways. Anti-hormonal therapies are usually given as pills, but some are given as injections. You may take them with or without chemotherapy2,6.

    Whether you are given anti-hormonal therapy, and what type, will depend on whether you have gone through the menopause, how much time has passed since your diagnosis and what kind of treatment you took for your initial breast cancer (if you were diagnosed and treated previously for early breast cancer)2,6. If you have had anti-hormonal therapy in the past, you may still take it again7.

  • Targeted drug therapy

    Targeted therapies work on specific types of breast cancer by blocking specific pathways that breast cancer cells use to multiply. To determine if any targeted therapies are right for you, your oncologist will have to determine what type of cancer you have2.

    There are therapies which are used in the treatment of HR-positive breast cancer that specifically target the signaling pathways that are activated by hormones, such as estrogen8.

    There are also several therapies that target HER2 receptors8. These drugs work in people with high levels of HER2 in the cancer cells, but they do not work in cancers that do not have this protein.

  • Bone stabilizing agents

    These are drugs that are often used when there are metastases in the bone. They work by helping to strengthen your bones and help reduce bone loss3,7.

    They can help relieve bone pain and reduce the long-term risk of bone breaks3,7. They are taken as pills or injections3,7.

  • Surgery

    Surgery is rarely used in metastatic breast cancer2. But, it may help some women by lessening symptoms or controlling disease in specific body parts. Surgery is often utilized when cancer has metastasized to the bones, lung or brain, and occasionally the liver2.


What are the treatments for specific metastatic breast cancer types?

Treatment options can vary depending on the type of metastatic breast cancer you have1. For example, your oncologist may recommend a combination of an anti-hormonal treatment and a targeted therapy if your cancer is HR-positive, or a HER2-targeted therapy for HER2-positive cancer7. Consult with your oncologist to understand which treatment is best for you.

WHAT TREATMENT IS
BEST FOR ME?

There is no single ‘best’ treatment for metastatic breast cancer, and what works for one person may not necessarily work for you7.

There are many different factors that affect which cancer treatment is best for you. These factors include the biology of the tumor (the type of breast cancer), the sites of metastases in your body, any prior treatments you have received for breast cancer and any treatments you are currently taking for other diseases7.

Expect to change treatments over time because your cancer can develop resistance to a given treatment7. You may need to switch to another treatment to which your cancer is more likely to respond. Your oncologist may stop your treatment for other reasons. You should consult your oncologist if you are experiencing too many side effects.

HOW DO I KNOW IF MY TREATMENT IS WORKING?

People react differently to different cancer treatments, so it is difficult to predict if your cancer will respond to a treatment or not. Your oncologist will conduct a variety of tests over time to find out if your treatment is working. These may include looking at:

The size of your tumor/metastases

Your oncologist may use imaging procedures to see if your tumor or metastases are growing, shrinking or staying the same size – to determine the effectiveness of the treatment8. This may involve repeating some of the scans that were used to diagnose the cancer initially such as computed tomography (CT) or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scans8.

The level of tumor markers

Tumor markers are proteins or other substances that are often, but not always, found in the blood when tumors are active in the body9.

The levels of tumor markers over time can be used by your oncologist to monitor the efficacy of your treatment9.

The level of circulating tumor cells

Circulating tumor cells (CTCs) are cancer cells that have detached from the primary tumor and are circulating in the bloodstream9.

High levels of CTCs may indicate the cancer is growing9. Your oncologist may monitor the level of CTCs in your blood to see how well you are responding to treatment9.

Development of new metastases

Your oncologist will want to make sure that cancer cells have not spread to other parts of the body. For this, imaging procedures such as computed tomography (CT) or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scans can be used10.

For how long do I take treatment?

Treatment for metastatic breast cancer is long term. This is because ongoing treatment is needed to control your cancer and prevent it from getting worse, and to help control symptoms of metastases. Your treatment may change over time and you may be given the same treatment several times, alternated with other treatments11.

There is no single best way to treat metastatic breast cancer and each person’s situation is different1.

You may be tempted to stop treatment once you feel better or if it makes you feel sick. However, as much as possible, it is critical to keep taking your treatment for as long as it is prescribed. Talk to your oncologist if you are thinking about stopping your treatment. There are things that can be done to help reduce side effects.

WHAT TREATMENT SIDE
EFFECTS CAN I EXPECT?

The side effects you experience will depend on the type of treatment, the dose you are receiving and your reaction from one therapy cycle until the next12. Also, everyone reacts differently to treatment. The side effects you have may be very different to those of another person on the same treatment12.

If you experience side effects from chemotherapy, these usually start during the first few weeks of therapy and intensify with each treatment cycle12. It is a good idea to plan for this until you know how you will feel. In general, these side effects subside once treatment is halted and the normal cells in the body recover (chemotherapy affects both the normal and cancer cells in the body)12.

Not everyone experiences side effects with treatment. If you do not experience any side effects, it does not mean that your cancer treatment is not working12.

Always tell your oncologist or nurse about any side effects you experience. There are supplemental treatments that can help with the side effects or in some cases your cancer treatment may be adjusted. Also, what feels like a side effect could be a sign of the cancer growing.

Common side effects and how to manage them

Some of the most common side effects of breast cancer treatment include fatigue, pain, nausea and vomiting, diarrhea, hair loss, low white blood cell count, and weight gain or weight loss13.

Pain

If you are having pain, it is important to let your oncologist or nurse know. They can give you drugs to help and recommend pain relief methods3.

It might help to keep a record of the frequency and the severity of your pain – does the pain get worse at night, or when doing specific things? Relieving your pain effectively will have a large impact on the way you feel – it can help reduce fatigue, anxiety and depression, and improve your sleep and overall well-being.

Cancer pain is usually treated with medicine and complementary therapies3. Therapies such as acupuncture, massage therapy and relaxation techniques can help you to control your pain14. Exercise can also help.

Fatigue

Fatigue is one of the most common side effects during treatment for metastatic breast cancer. Fatigue is so much more than feeling tired: it is complete exhaustion. It may be related to the physical effect of the cancer itself or be a side effect of treatment. Or it may be related to changes in your sleeping patterns and added stress and anxiety15.

Tips for dealing with fatigue13,15:

  • Eat regularly and eat healthy foods
  • Do regular gentle exercise
  • Plan your day and only do what is most important to you
  • Ask for help from friends and family
  • Take short breaks or naps
  • Tell your oncologist or nurse – your fatigue could be related to a low level of red blood cells, a condition known as anaemia, and this can be treated12

Nausea and vomiting

Untreated nausea and vomiting can make you feel very tired and can also lead to more serious problems. Tell your oncologist or nurse if you experience nausea or vomiting during your treatment for metastatic breast cancer – there are medicines available to help you control them for the duration of your therapy.

Tips to reduce nausea and vomiting12,13,16:

  • Gentle exercise and fresh air
  • Avoid spicy, greasy or very sweet foods – try bland and easy-to-digest foods
  • Take small sips of fluid during the day, if you don’t like the taste of water, consider ginger or syrup flavourings
  • Eat regular small meals

Sleeping problems and insomnia

Numerous factors can prevent you from having a good night’s sleep, including pain, stress, side effects of the treatment, anxiety, and depression. You may feel like you can’t sleep, wake up frequently in the night, or wake up very early.

This can affect your ability to function on a daily basis17. Tell your oncologist if you experience sleeping problems – there are medications that may help17.

Tips to help you sleep12,17:

  • Try to maintain your usual sleeping pattern
  • Reduce noise and light in your room
  • Try relaxation techniques, meditation or mindfulness
  • Have a warm drink before bedtime (but avoid caffeine)

Lack of concentration and cognitive changes

Experiencing a lack of concentration or even cognitive changes are not unusual side effects you can experience during your metastatic breast cancer treatment therapy. These side effects can be caused by physical or emotional changes that may or may not be related to your treatment12,18. It is important you report any problems with concentration to your oncologist or nurse. 

Hair loss

If you are receiving chemotherapy as a part of your treatment for metastatic breast cancer, you may experience thinning or drying-out of your hair, or hair-loss19. Many people worry about this but it depends on the kinds of drugs you are precscribed12.

For some, but not all chemotherapies, scalp cooling may be an effective way to prevent hair loss20. Ask your oncologist whether this may help your specific treatment and whether scalp cooling is offered at your clinic.

Having your hair fall out can be very upsetting, and it might be a good idea to cut your hair short if you know you are going to lose it13. This can help you regain some control of the situation, rather than waiting for your hair to fall out. Do what feels right for you.

References
  1. National Breast Cancer Foundation Australia (2020). Treatment. Retrieved from https://nbcf.org.au/about-breast-cancer/treatment. Accessed 10 December, 2020.
  2. Australia Government (October 2020). Treatment options for metastatic breast cancer. Retrieved from https://www.canceraustralia.gov.au/affected-cancer/cancer-types/breast-cancer/treatment/metastatic-breast-cancer. Accessed 10 December, 2020.
  3. National Cancer Institute (2020). Breast Cancer Treatment -Patient Version. Retrieved from https://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/treatment/side-effects/pain/pain-pdq Accessed 13 October, 2020.
  4. National Cancer Institute (2020). NCI Dictionary of Cancer Terms. Retrieved from https://www.cancer.gov/publications/dictionaries/cancer-terms Accessed 13 October, 2020.
  5. National Cancer Institute (2020). Types of cancer treatment. Retrieved from https://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/treatment/types. Accessed 13 October, 2020.
  6. National Cancer Institute (2020). Hormone Therapy for Breast Cancer. Retrieved from https://www.cancer.gov/types/breast/breast-hormone-therapy-fact-sheet Accessed 13 October, 2020.
  7. NCCN Clinical Practice Guidelines in Oncology Breast Cancer, Version 6. 2020- September 8, 2020. Retrieved from https://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/pdf/breast.pdf. Accessed 13 October, 2020.
  8. National Cancer Institute (2020). Breast Cancer Treatment – Patient Version. Retrieved from https://www.cancer.gov/types/breast/patient/breast-treatment-pdq#section/all. Accessed 13 October, 2020.
  9. Breastcancer.org (2020) Blood Marker Tests. Retrieved from https://www.breastcancer.org/symptoms/testing/types/blood_marker. Accessed 13 October, 2020.
  10. Australian Government Cancer Australia (October 2020). Diagnosis when breast cancer has spread. Retrieved from https://www.canceraustralia.gov.au/affected-cancer/cancer-types/breast-cancer/diagnosis/diagnosis-when-breast-cancer-spreads. Accessed 13 October, 2020.
  11. American Cancer Society (April 2020). Treatment of Stage IV (metastatic) breast cancer. Retrieved from https://www.cancer.org/cancer/breast-cancer/treatment/treatment-of-breast-cancer-by-stage/treatment-of-stage-iv-advanced-breast-cancer.html. Accessed 10 December, 2020.
  12. Cancer Council Victoria (2020) Chemotherapy: Side effects of chemotherapy. Retrieved from: https://www.cancervic.org.au/cancer-information/treatments/treatments-types/chemotherapy/side_effects_of_chemotherapy.html. Accessed 13 October, 2020.
  13. Australian Government Cancer Australia (October 2020). Side effects. Retrieved from https://www.canceraustralia.gov.au/affected-cancer/cancer-types/breast-cancer/treatment/chemotherapy/side-effects#. Accessed 13 October, 2020.
  14. National Cancer Institute (2020) Side Effects: Pain. Retrieved from https://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/treatment/side-effects/pain. Accessed 13 October, 2020.
  15. National Cancer Institute (2020). Fatigue and Cancer Treatment. Retrieved from https://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/treatment/side-effects/fatigue. Accessed 13 October, 2020.
  16. Cancer Care Ontario (2019). How to manage your nausea and vomiting. Retrieved from https://www.uhn.ca/PatientsFamilies/Health_Information/Health_Topics/Documents/How_to_Manage_Nausea_Vomiting_cco.pdf. Accessed 10 December, 2020.
  17. Macmillan cancer support (2020). Trouble sleeping (Insomnia). Retrieved from https://www.macmillan.org.uk/cancer-information-and-support/impacts-of-cancer/trouble-sleeping. Accessed 10 December, 2020.
  18. National Cancer Institute (2020). Memory or Concentration Problems and Cancer Treatment. Retrieved from https://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/treatment/side-effects/memory. Accessed 13 October, 2020.
  19. National Cancer Institute (2020). Memory or Concentration Problems and Cancer Treatment. Retrieved from https://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/treatment/side-effects/hair-loss. Accessed 13 October, 2020.
  20. Macmillan Cancer Support (2020) Scalp cooling. Retrieved from: https://www.macmillan.org.uk/information-and-support/coping/side-effects-and-symptoms/hair-loss/scalp-cooling.html. Accessed 13 October, 2020.

 

Disclaimer

This health information is provided for reference only and is not intended to replace discussions with a healthcare provider.

All decisions regarding patient care must be made with a healthcare provider.